Why do Hindus use the swastika on Auspicious Occasion ?

Not only in Hinduism but also in other religions and communities, Swastika is considered to be the most auspicious symbol ever. This is designed as a cross where the four arms, 1 are bent at right angles. The four dots in the Swastika denotes the four directions. Being auspicious, this mark is customary to be designed before starting any auspicious ceremony.

The Ganeshpuran suggests the swastika as a form of Lord Ganesh. It is believed to solve all problems and hindrances that comes in the way of an auspicious work.

In the Yajur-Veda, 25/19, it is said:


Swastika is believed to be compiled from the powers of four Gods. Lord Indra, who is renowned and glorious to bless us with well-being. Dev Pusa epitomizes knowledge of the world, who blesses us with every possible knowledge. Garuda Dev protects us by destroying misfortune. Bhagwan Brihaspati establishes prosperity in our home.

 In the Atharva-Veda, 1/31/4, Swastika is described to have the power to bless our mother, father, and our cattle. It creates an auspicious environment all around the people of the world. It blessed the whole world with wealth and knowledge.

The swastika is also known as `Satiya‘, which is symbolic of the Sudarshan Chakra. It also a plus (+) symbol which is believed to add prosperity in everyone’s lives. Mythology explains the eight arms in Swastika as the Earth, Fire, Water, Air, Sky, Mind, Emotions and Feelings. They also represent the four eras – Satyug, Tretayug, Dwaparyug and Kalyug. They also represent the four castes – Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and Shudras. They are also symbolic of the four ashrams of life  – Brahmacharya, Grihast, Vanprasth and Sanyas. The four arms also suggest the four basic aims of human life – dharm (righteousness), arth (prosperity), kaam (passion) and moksha (salvation). They also symbolize the four faces and four hands of Brahma and of the four Vedas – Rig-Veda, Yajur-Veda, Sam-Veda and Atharva-Veda. They are also symbols of the four constellations – Pushya (8th), Chitra (14th), Shravan (22nd) and Revti (27th).

In a chapter in the Rig-Veda, it is said that the swastika also symbolizes the Surya. Amarkosh says it as a pure and auspicious blessing. In the Acharya Yask, the swastika has been described as indestructible Brahma. Goddess Lakshmi is also symbolized in the Swastika as it blesses with prosperity.

Think it over

Who has faith has all, and he who lacks faith lacks all. It is faith in the name of the Lord that works wonders, for faith is life and doubt is death.

-Sri Ramakrishna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *